Posted in Life Interuppted

Happy Birthday Taylor!!

Today is the 27th birthday of global phenomenon and pop star Taylor Swift! I am proud to call myself her fan, or rather a ‘Swiftie’ as that’s how fans of the singing sensation refer to themselves. Last year, this time, I had forgotten her birthday and felt really upset about it. I was writing an article listing her songs from her last album, ‘1989’, according to my own personal order of favourites. I never finished that article. I was so angry with myself.

1989

So this time, I decided that I had to be prepared. I know that not many readers go through my blog, but this is the place where I express myself. This is the best platform to wish Taylor and write about my love for her. Maybe someday she will chance upon it! And till then, I can connect with other Swifties!

birthday2014

I first heard of Taylor when a friend introduced me to the ‘Jonas Brothers’ (back when the brothers worked together). She was a huge fan of Joe Jonas, the middle brother. She still is. I started listening to their songs and even noticed a guy in college who looked exactly like Joe! (I went up and told him that too, in the presence of his girlfriend! But that’s for another article.)

One day, I was sitting in my college library, reading the entertainment section of the local newspaper. That’s when I saw Taylor. Her picture was printed along with an article about her relationship with Joe, or rather his sad dumping of her through a text. Now, I had heard a lot about Taylor, from the same friend, though I hadn’t seen how she looked or heard any of her songs. When I read that article, I immediately called up my friend and had a long conversation. Even my friend was upset about Joe’s behavior.

I didn’t forget Taylor after that. Her picture stayed in my mind. She was dressed in a black dress with loads of bracelets on one hand, smiling generously at the camera and striking a pose. I didn’t get the exact picture, but this one is from the same photo shoot.

tay-black-dress-first-pic

Sometime later, I was surfing the music channels and I caught the end of the video of Taylor’s brand new hit ‘Love Story’. I recognized her and saw the video till the end. I liked what I saw. After that, I was always on the lookout for the song to be played again. Its tune was stuck in my mind and I hadn’t even seen or heard the entire song!

taylor_swift_-_love_story

When I finally caught the song, it had already reached number one in the ‘Top Ten’ programme, I saw it from the start to the finish. I absolutely loved it! Who was this Taylor Swift? She was insanely talented. I put her name to the ‘Artist to be remembered’ list in my head. The next song that I heard was ‘Teardrops on my guitar’. (It was not a new song but it was the second Taylor Swift song that I heard.) That sealed the deal. I was officially in love with Taylor Swift. And then I found out that she writes her own songs! I was super impressed! I have always been fascinated with people who have the unique talent of writing, whether they write books, articles, short stories, poems or songs. And this girl wrote such melodious songs and sang them with such aplomb!

By now, I had completely forgotten about Joe Jonas. I began searching for her songs online and loved every single one of them! I started listening to Love Story, Teardrops on my Guitar, Hey Stephen, The Story of US, Fearless, White Horse, You belong with me, Fifteen, Breathe, The way I loved you, Forever and Always, I’d Lie, Crazier, Stay Beautiful, The Best Day, Mean, Ours, Our Song and Mary’s song every day.

I didn’t become a Swiftie immediately. It was her fourth studio album, ‘Red’ that made me her super fan; her transformation in the music videos, the flashing red lipstick, the new haircut, the flowy dresses and the cute shorts! I was in love with everything! Her ability to write her feelings in such catchy songs sucked me in. There were discussions about which song was aimed at which ex-boyfriend of hers. I didn’t join in the discussions but I was definitely intrigued. If I had such lyrical talent, I would be writing about everything! From my fantasies about my high profile crushes, my family life, my friends and my dreams and my opinions on so many things….this girl could write so well, why shouldn’t she write?

By this point, I was reading articles about her online, listening to ‘Red’ every single day and following her on Facebook and Twitter. I thought it was Joe’s loss that he was no longer with Taylor. I was inspired by her quotes and thoughts and read up on her struggle as a new singer-songwriter and how her parents supported her by shifting to Nashville, how she never gave up on her dream…

taylor_swift_-_red

The reason that I love her music is that I connect to it. More so, because she writes her own songs, is incredibly good at it and paints such a clear picture in all her songs. She has had her fair share of struggle, dropping demo CD’s outside record producers homes and persuading her parents to shift base to let her try her hand at her dreams. True, she is now mega successful, as today’s definition of success is decided using the parameters of fame and money, but there are tons of stories about her kindness towards fans (1989 Secret Sessions), fellow singers (she invited them for her concerts and sang their songs!) and animals. She is a proud cat owner, or should I say CATS owner as she has two cats- Meredith and Olivia. Yes, I know the names of her cats, that’s how crazy I am.

cat

I may not have been in a single romantic relationship but I understand it when she sings ‘Once upon a time, a few mistakes ago’ (I Knew you were Trouble) or ‘Can you feel the magic in the air? It must have been the way you kissed me’ (Today was a fairy tale), ‘I can’t breathe without you, but I have to’ (Breathe), ‘and there he goes, so perfectly… the kind of flawless I wish I could be’ (Teardrops on my guitar), ‘My god, if I could only say, “I’m holding every breath for you” (I’d lie), ‘All those other girls- well, they are beautiful…but would they write a song for you?’ (Hey Stephen), ‘Touching him was like realizing all you ever wanted was right there in front of you’ (Red)…..I could go on…. All her songs are not based on romantic relationships, some are for friends, parents, life, new beginnings….she writes so well!

It’s only because of her that I attempted songwriting…and I think that I have written two of my best songs already! Hopefully, some professional singer may even actually croon them!

Unbelievably, I still have to listen to some Taylor Swift songs. Yes, as a Swiftie, I should know ALL her songs word by word, but there is a pleasure in knowing that there is a Taylor Swift song that I haven’t heard. As a fellow Swiftie tweeted recently, ‘Listening to a Taylor Swift song for the first time is a very precious experience’! That’s because after that the song is always on a loop! My list includes Enchanted, Innocent, Speak Now, Dear John, Better than Revenge, Haunted, Long Live.

Somehow I feel like it’s my best friend’s birthday today! She has inspired me, made me feel strong, brought a smile on my face, made me cry (each time I watch the video of New Romantics, I’m crying…and crying..) and turned my bad day completely around! I adore her!

It is her birthday today but she is the one who gave us, her fans; a superb gift. Her new single, ‘I Don’t Want to Live Forever’ in collaboration with Zayn Malik is the newest number one song in over 45 countries (the last time I checked). It has been originally composed for the movie ‘Fifty Shades Darker’ and is co-written by Swift. It is an amazing track that fits the storyline of the movie to the T. The internet saw a frenzy when this surprise collaboration dropped on 8th December. First, Taylor hasn’t released any new song since her last album in October 2014 and fans are impatiently waiting for new music from her. Second, Zayn is hot property on the pop market. He was the first one to break form the hugely successful boy band ‘One Direction’ to go solo. He’s dating Gigi Hadid, a supermodel and one of Taylor’s BFF’s, also his former bandmate, Harry Styles and Taylor used to date. Third, the song is a part of the eagerly awaited soundtrack of the ‘Fifty Shades’ film franchise. It is the first official song to be released.

There was no hint that this was happening. When two of pop music’s biggest names collaborate to create a song for a highly anticipated movie sequel, this is what happens.

zayn-malik-taylor-swift-fifty-shades

But the best part? The song is insanely addictive. I already have it on loop and am listening to it as I am writing. Taylor functions under such huge pressure. Sure, both their names will sell the single. But to skyrocket to number one in so many countries and to stay there, you need sheer talent. This is the first time I closely heard Zayn’s breathy vocals. Sure, I had heard and loved One Direction, but I am not a Directioner, so I was never able to distinguish one’s voice form another. And I have heard three solo songs of Zayn till now, which impressed me but I am not a fan. But this song is IT. Zayn has killed it in this song! This is going to work the other way too. All of Zayn’s fans will adore Taylor’s vocals in it. They must be super fans of Zayn and admirers of Taylor, after this song, they will be on their way to being a Swiftie.

Taylor is smart and knows how to conduct business. She may not have a college degree but she sure uses her brains well. Apart from killer writing skills, she’s tried her hand at Fashion, Acting and is a brand ambassador for many important products. She earns from advertisements and has even trademarked her fabulous lyrics!

She’s donated millions to charity and is vocal about many issues. She’s a loyal friend, just check out the video of ‘Bad Blood’ which is filled with her girl squad. Count me in too!

I may never be her friend though, as I am too much of a fan. I would love to be part of her Secret Sessions that she had with selected fans, letting them hear her new music first. I would also love to receive her ‘Swiftmas’ packages which are personalized and make fans cry. But what I would really love is to attend her live concert once in my life. Now this will happen if I save diligently and travel to where her concert is taking place. Or it may happen if Taylor decides to include India in her ‘World’ tour. I am hoping that this happens. Soon!

1989tourbook

Till then, I am happy listening to all her songs, reading about her, praying for her, following her life on social networking sites and loving her!

I am a proud Swiftie!

Happy wala birthday Tay! I love you to the moon and back!

Author:

Hello! I am Anushree, a 27 year old crazy girl who loves to talk, write and dance. I am a high school teacher by profession. I love my job! I teach my favourite subjects- History and English.

Leave a Reply

